HBCU and HSI Bridge Scholarship Program

Course Offerings and Academic Advising

Course Offerings and Academic Advising

Bridge Scholarship students may register for undergraduate and graduate courses in any University of Chicago division or school, except for the Pritzker School of Medicine, Booth School of Business, and the Law School. Introductions to these divisions and schools can be found below, as well as links to web pages containing more detailed information about faculty and course descriptions, departmental workshops and faculty labs.

students in classroom

  • Biological Sciences Division: encompasses a wide range of fields and programs, including highly ranked graduate programs in Ecology & Evolution and Paleontology. It is home to research groups across the biological sciences including the Center for Global Health and the Grossman Institute for Neuroscience, Quantitative Biology, and Human Behavior.
  • Physical Sciences Division: home to internationally celebrated departments, institutes, and labs at the forefront of physical science and technology, including the Computation Institute, the Enrico Fermi Institute (founded shortly after the Second World War as the “Institute for Nuclear Studies”), Argonne National Laboratory, and the Fermi National Accelerator Lab. The PSD also offers several interdisciplinary master’s degree programs, including the MS in Financial Mathematics, positioned at the nexus of theoretical and applied math.
  • Division of the Social Sciences: departments include Anthropology, Economics, History, and Political Science. Interdisciplinary master’s degree programs include International Relations, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, and Computational Social Science.  
  • Division of the Humanities: comprises twenty-one departments and committees. Fifty foreign languages are taught on a regular basis. Programs include Art History, English Language & Literature, Linguistics, and Philosophy. Interdisciplinary research centers include the Franke Institute for the Humanities and the Neubauer Collegium for Culture and Society.

Instructor helping a student

  • Divinity School: the graduate professional school for the academic study of religion at the University of Chicago. Degree programs include the Master of Arts (MA), Master of Arts in Religious Studies (AMRS), and the Master of Divinity (MDiv).
  • Harris School of Public Policy: offers courses and degree programs in Public Policy, with an analytical, data-driven focus. Harris offers the Master of Public Policy (MPP), Master of Science in Computational Analysis and Public Policy (MSCAPP), MS in Environmental Science and Policy (MSESP), Master of Arts in Public Policy (MA) and the MA in Public Policy with a Certificate in Research Methods (MACRM).
  • School of Social Service Administration: one of the top three graduate schools of social work in the world. The school offers a master’s program with clinical practice and social administration tracks, as well as a doctoral program.

Academic advising forms an integral part of program success. Scholarship recipients are required to meet regularly with an academic advisor. Quarterly programming includes alumni panels and receptions, faculty brownbags, and academic and career workshops.